Winner of the 2016 PhARF Award Announced

The winner of the 2016 PhARF Award was announced on Saturday, June 11 at the opening ceremony of this year’s EAACI. Prof Antonella Muraro, President of EAACI, presented the PhARF statue (in the form of an IgE molecule) to Verena Niederberger-Leppin, MD, Assoc Prof, Department of Otorhinolaryngology, Medical University of Vienna, Austria.

Dr Niederberger’s independent and original research impressed and motivated the PhARF Scientific Committee to recognize her with the PhARF Award 2016 with the following motivation:
“Dr Verena Niederberger’s research with recombinant allergens is continuously at the forefront, developing new diagnostic and therapeutic strategies for allergy. She moved the use of recombinant molecules into clinical application with the first world-wide immunotherapy trial, published 2004.”

PhARF Honorable Mention

The PhARF Scientific Committee also recognized Carina Venter, PhD, RD, Research Associate, Division of Allergy and Immunology, Cincinatti Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinatti, OH, US with an Honorable Mention for her research in food allergy and eosinophilic esophagitis.


The PhARF Award is sponsored by Thermo Fischer Scientific but the winner is selected by an Independent Scientific Committee.




As in all diagnostic testing, the diagnosis is made by the physican based on both test results and the patient history.