The PhARF Award 2012

The PhARF Award was officially announced on June 17 in connection with the EAACI meeting in Geneva, Switzerland.

We have the pleasure of announcing the winner of the 2012 PhARF Award, Dr. Elizabeth Matsui.

Dr. Matsui is an Associate Professor at the Department of Pediatrics (Allergy and Immunology) at the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, US.

The Scientific Committee consisting of Prof. Hugh Sampson (Chairman), Dr. Ruby Pawankar (WAO President), Dr. Dennis Ledford (AAAAI President) and Prof. Cezmi Akdis (EAACI President), met recently and agreed unanimously that Dr. Matsui should be elected winner of this year’s award based on the following motivation:

"Dr. Elizabeth Matsui has leveraged her epidemiologic and allergy/immunology expertise with exceptional clinical skills to provide novel insights into modifiable risk factors of allergic respiratory disease, especially the role of mouse allergen exposure, which are impacting how allergists evaluate and better manage urban patients with asthma.“

The prize was officially announced on June 17, 2012 in connection to the first Plenary Symposium at the European Academy of Allergy and Immunology (EAACI) conference that took place in Geneva, Switzerland.

Dr. Elisabeth Matsui receives the 2012 PhARF Award during EAACI in Geneva; here together with Prof. Cezmi Akdis (EAACI President) and Prof. Hugh Sampson (Chairman of PhARF Scientific Committee).



As in all diagnostic testing, the diagnosis is made by the physican based on both test results and the patient history.