The 2011 PhARF Award

The PhARF (Phadia Allergy Research Forum) Award Ceremony took place at the EAACI meeting in Istanbul June 13 in connection to the Phadia sponsored symposium. The symposium was chaired by Prof. Hugh Sampson and Prof. Walter Canonica opened the golden envelope revealing the winner.


Just as last year, the prize was split between two winners:

Dr. Valérie Julia, Ph.D., Principal Scientist at INSERM, Valbonne, France (nominated by Dr. David Dombrowicz) and Dr. Susumu Nakae, Ph.D., Assoc. Prof. at The Institute of Medical Science, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan (nominated by Prof. Stephen Galli and Prof. Hirohisa Saito).

The PhARF Scientific Committee, chaired by Prof. Canonica, considered the research of both Dr. Julia's and Dr. Nakae's to be in the forefront of international science and the quality and independence of their research is well ascertained. Dr. Julia has performed outstanding research focusing on the role of allergen exposure on the immune response in mouse models. Dr. Nakae has contributed to our understanding of the molecular mechanisms underlying allergic and other immunological disorders.

Out of all nominations this year, the Scientific Committee also gave an Honorable Mention to

Dr. Sarbjit Singh Saini, MD, Baltimore, Maryland, US and Dr. Claudia Traidl-Hoffmann, MD, Munich, Germany, for their excellent achievements.



As in all diagnostic testing, the diagnosis is made by the physican based on both test results and the patient history.