Award 2013

The winner of the PhARF Award 2013 is Kenji Kabashima.

The winner of the PhARF Award 2013 is Kenji Kabashima, MD, PhD, Associate Professor at the Department of Dermatology Kyoto Graduate School of Medicine, Kyoto, Japan. He was elected by the Scientific Committee - consisting of Prof Hugh Sampson (Chairman), Prof Ruby Pawankar (WAO President), Prof Wesley Burks (AAAAI President) and Prof Cezmi Akdis (EAACI President) - based on the following motivation:

“Dr. Kenji Kabashima has excelled in both basic and clinical research, elucidating pathogenic mechanisms in both contact dermatitis and atopic dermatitis, and has developed a novel technique of live imaging to study skin immune responses. Dr. Kabashima recently proposed a new concept of “skin as a possible secondary lymphoid organ,” which is leading to a paradigm shift in the way we view this organ’s role in immune surveillance and disease.”

The prize was officially announced on June 23, 2013 in connection to the first Plenary Symposium at the European Academy of Allergy and Immunology (EAACI) conference that took place in Milan, Italy.


As in all diagnostic testing, the diagnosis is made by the physican based on both test results and the patient history.